ACBT Local Chapters

Alamo Council

The Alamo Council of the Blind is located in San Antonio, TX. We are a sub-chapter of the American Council of the Blind – Texas. ACBT is an affiliate of the parent (national) organization, The American Council of the Blind.

Officers and Board of Directors

Larry Roser, President
Phone: (210) 410-4071
EMail: larry.roser@redcross.org

Mary Alice Gary, 1st Vice-President
Phone: (915) 269-2119
Email: ma-gary@att.net

Elizabeth Chaney, Second Vice-President
Phone: (469) 888-0060
Email: longblackhair1@yahoo.com

James Hanna, Secretary
Phone: (281) 728-5914
EMail: jrhanna53@gmail.com

Kevin Dunlop, Treasurer
Phone: (210)512-3758
Email: wkevindunlop@aol.com

Thomas E. (Gene) Williams, Assistant Treasurer
Phone: (210) 657-9508
EMail: twilliams1957@gmail.com

Shelley McMullen, Immediate Past President
Phone: (210) 824-2617

Meeting Information

The Alamo Council of the Blind meets once per month on the second Saturday of the month, at
the Longhorn Café
12311 Nacogdoches
San Antonio Texas
This could be subject to change. Our meeting begins at 11:00 AM and ends at 12:30 PM with lunch to follow. Please check with officers listed above for additional meeting information.

Austin Council

The Austin Council of the Blind is located in Austin, TX. it is a chapter of the American Council of the Blind – Texas (ACBT). ACBT is an affiliate of the parent (national) organization,
The American Council of the Blind (ACB).

Officers and Board of Directors

Dennis Simms: President
Phone: (512) 456-3635
Email: dennislsims@gmail.com

Steven Salas: Vice President
Phone: (512) 925-9080
Email: salasblack@gmail.com

Stephen Kerr: Secretary
Phone: (512) 925-9080
EMail: kerrsteve62@gmail.com

Margarine Beaman, Treasurer
Phone: (512) 921-1625
EMail: oleo50@hotmail.com

Chris Prentice: Immediate Past President
Email: cprentice61@att.net

Patty Temmerman: Board Member
patty.temmerman@austincc.edu

Charles Shavers: Board Member
charles.shavers@gmail.com

Antoinette Cervantes: Board Member
acervantes@escoffier.edu

Meeting Information

 The Austin Council meets on the third Saturday of each month from 10:30 am to 12:30 PM at
the Ruiz Branch Library
1600 Grove Boulevard, Austin TX 78702
Whether you’re a long-time member but haven’t been to a meeting in a while, in town just visiting, or have lived here for a long time and have never checked out ACB before, we’d love to have you join us.

Beaumont Area Council

The Beaumont Area Council of the Blind is located in Beaumont, Texas. it is a sub-chapter of the American Council of the Blind – Texas (ACBT). ACBT is an affiliate of the parent (national) organization, The American Council of the Blind (ACB).

Logo of the Beaumont Area Council of the Blind – a black circle with the full name around the rim and the initials BACB in text and Braille in the center

Officers and Board of Directors

Kenneth Semien, Sr., President
Phone: (409) 866-5880
E-mail: semien.k@att.net

Warren Julun, 1st Vice President

Clinon Kyle, 2nd Vice President

Kyle Delk, Secretary

Cynthia Julun, Treasurer
Email:  cjulun@sbcglobal.net

Ed Lakey: BoardMember Position 1

Donald Brown: Board Member Position 2

Meeting Information

The Beaumont Council meets on the third Saturday of each month, with the exception of July and December from 1:30pm-3:00pm at
Post Acute Medical Rehabilitation Hospital of Beaumont
3340 Plaza 10 Boulevard
behind Chili’s Restaurant on Interstate 10.  Please call us to confirm any changes prior to attending.

Dallas Area Council

Ted Harper, President
Phone: (469) 644-9926
E-mail: sharper61@sbcglobal.net

Paula Muysenberg, First Vice President
Phone: (972) 824-1075
E-mail: pjhmuy@gmail.com

Carol White, Secretary
Phone: (214) 924-1401
E-mail: cawhitetx@gmail.com

Larry Thacker, Treasurer
Phone: (972) 814-5067
E-mail: politicat@lionsrealm.net

El Paso Council

Dianna E. Carter, President
Phone:(915) 539-6919
E-Mail: ddcarter2000@gmail.com

Fort Worth Council

Ed Henderson, President
Phone: (817) 283-1977
Email: edgar.henderson@att.net

James Goin, 1st Vice President
Phone: (817) 495-8668

Randy Ward, 2nd Vice President
Phone: (817) 300-1091

Heidi Swan, Secretary
Phone: 817-255-6826
Email: friend2servant@sbcglobal.net

Sheila Derrick, Treasurer
Phone: (817) 507-3964
Email: sjderrick212@hotmail.com

Houston Council

Gayle Metoyer, President
Phone: (281) 794-2012
Email: metoyer903@comcast.net

Michael Garrett, Secretary
Phone: (281) 438-9665
Email: Megarrett4443@sbcglobal.net

Foster Brown, Treasurer
Phone: (832) 469-1817
Email: brownfoster@gmail.com

Peggy R. Garrett , Immediate Past President
Phone: (281) 438-9665
Email: prcgarrett@sbcglobal.net

ACBT Special Interest Affiliates

  • Braille Revival League of Texas (BRLT)
  • Guide Dog Users of Texas (GDUTX)
  • Library Users Of America -Texas (LUAT)

ACBT Special Interest Groups

  • Technology Users Group of Texas