ACBT 2012 Conference Awards and Speaker Pictures

Thursday, September 27 through Sunday, September 30, 2012
DoubleTree Hotel near the Galleria

Conference Awards and Speaker Pictures

Kenneth Simeon, Sr. presents the Who's Who awardsWhos Who Among Blind Texans Award
Winners below with pictures
- Kenneth Semien, Sr., Chair (Beaumont Area Council)


Rudy Becerra of Lewisville

Rudy Becerra of Lewisville


Joan Cox from San Angelo

Joan Cox from San Angelo


Bernice Klapac of Houston

Bernice Klapac of Houston

Neil Finley, Award for service as Treasurer

Neal Finley, Award for service as Treasurer

Outstanding ACBT Member of the Year
Member of the Year
Ginger Kraft
Presented by Kenneth Semien, Sr.
Chair, Cindy Finley (South Plains Council)

Sabra Ewing of Dallas, BRLT scholarship winnerBRLT scholarship awards to two outstanding visually impaired students who are users of Braille.
Sabra Ewing of Dallas, received the joint $1,000 scholarship from All Blind Children of Texas and the Braille revival League of Texas. Sabra is entering her freshman year at University of Texas at Austin and eventually plans to attend law school.


Melissa Finefrock of Denton, BRLT Scholarship winnerMelissa Finefrock received a $1,000 scholarship funded by generous donations from Megan Douchette and H.E.B.s Community Investment Program. Melissa is a visually impaired senior at the University of North Texas majoring in English with emphasis in literature.  She is also completing a 12 hour certificate in rehabilitation and plans to work in that area. 

BRLT Scholarship Award
- Nadine Saffell, Chair
(Houston Council)
BRLT/ABCT Scholarship Award
- Nadine Saffell/Betty Huffman Chairs
(Houston/Austin Councils)

Melissa Finefrock, ACBT scholarship winner also
Joyce Watson, ACBT Scholarship chair person

DOC file caution

Presenter Biographical Information

David G. Ondich, Saturday Luncheon Speaker (doc)

William B. (Bill) Thayer, First Banquet Speaker  (doc)

Banquet Speaker, Bill Thayer


Dr. Stanley S. McGowen, Banquet Speaker  (doc)

Banquet Speaker Stan McGowen


Roseanne DeMoss, Director of Criss Cole Rehabilitation Center in Austin.
speaking for
Barbara J Madrigal, Sunday Breakfast Speaker  (doc)

Breakfast Speaker Barbara Madrigal


Go to Main Index
This file was last updated on October 31, 2012
Valid XHTML 1.0 Share information about ACB Texas website with friends by e--mail.